Ursula von der Leyen has been elected President of the next European Commission by the European Parliament in a secret ballot on 16 July. She gained 383 votes in favour, 327 against, and 22 abstentions.

She is set to take office on 1 November 2019 for a five-year term.

Parliament currently comprises 747 MEPs as per the official notifications received by member state authorities, so the threshold needed to be elected was 374 votes, i.e. more than 50% of its component members. President of the European Parliament David Maria Sassoli formally announced the requisite number before the results were revealed in plenary.

Next steps

The Commission President-elect will now send official letters to the member states' heads of state or government inviting them to propose their candidates for members of the Commission. Hearings of the nominees in Parliament’s competent committees are scheduled to take place from 30 September to 8 October. The full college of Commissioners then needs to be elected by Parliament, most likely in its 21-24 October session.

Ursula von der Leyen Political Priorities

More information here.