Only a week after the Netherlands joined the European Public Prosecutor's Office (EPPO), the European Commission announced Malta as its 22nd member. EU Commissioner for Justice, Gender Equality and Consumers, Vera Jourová, said: "I am very pleased to receive Malta as a member of the EPPO. A month ago, I met with the Maltese authorities. They reaffirmed their will to fight crimes against the EU budget. We can do this together through the EPPO. This is why I urge all remaining Member States to join in. The more Member States participate in the EPPO, the stronger the Office will be."

The EPPO will play a key role in fighting crimes against the EU budget such as fraud, corruption, money laundering or serious cross-border VAT fraud above €10 million. It will be operational by the end of 2020 in all participating EU Member States. Member States that have not yet chosen to participate in the European Public Prosecutor's Office can join at any time after the adoption of the Regulation, if they wish to do so.

The following EU countries are already participating to the EPPO: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain and Slovenia. The decision is published here and will be published in the Official Journal tomorrow. More information on EPPO is available in this memo, and more information on enhanced cooperation is available in this factsheet.