On 24 January, the President of the European Council, Charles Michel and the President of the Europan Commission, Ursula von der Leyen signed the Agreement on the Withdrawal of the UK in Brussels.

EU ratification: next steps

On 29 January, the European Parliament will vote in plenary on the agreement. Once the European Parliament has given its consent, the Council of the EU will adopt, by written procedure, the decision on the conclusion of the agreement on behalf of the EU, ensuring an orderly Brexit on 31 January.

From then on, the UK will enter a transition period up to 31 December 2020, in which the UK will be no longer an EU Member State, but will continue to be subject to EU rules and remain a member of the single market and customs union. This will allow the UK to continue its current relationship with the EU while the future trading relationship and security cooperation is negotiated.